Best computer for aerospace engineer: mac or pc?

In summary: I'm an aerospace engineer, and I use a Mac. I have never used Linux. I'm not sure if it would be a good choice for an aerospace engineer, since they need to be proficient with CAD software.
legendarium
Hello,

I am currently in my early school phases on my path to becoming an aerospace major.
I know there are programs which engineers use for design purposes and other programs as well which they need for their profession. Since i am still in school i have not had the experience of finding out what type of computer is best for this major.

What i do know is how to use autocad and i also know that Rhino is a program used for design as well, both i have only seen on a windows pc.

Also, which would be great for robotic programming purposes as well, it is a little hobby of mine. :)

Thank you,
- Legendarium

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm not an aerospace engineer, but my guess in PC. You should be proficient with both platforms, though, and PCs are cheaper.

I was thinking that pc's would be the answer as well.

The problem with any computer is that the nice ones, as in the ones that are great in performance, are expensive, whether it is a pc or mac.

Thanks BenTheMan.

PC, more powerful and whatnot. Aerospace engineers will most likely require high end CAD software that is unavailable for MAC and will require unbelievably high end hardware to run, as well as an extensive multi-monitor set up - which is just easier to achieve on Windows than OS/X.

You should also maybe consider linux. I don't know for aerospace applications, but many scientific applications find their origin in a unix-like environment.

Not another Mac versus PC religious war!