Beginner's Guide to Compressed Sensing in Signal Processing

In summary: Sub-Nyquist sampling is a fairly common technique and you can get away with sub sampling if the signal you are trying to compress is not too sparse.
maNoFchangE
I hope this is the right place for this post.
I'm originally a physics student but my thesis supervisor assigned me a work in which the concept of compressed sensing (CS) becomes the underlying aspect. I have searched some sources online but, no good. I guess this is because this CS thing is already a very specific topic in signal processing which I have not been familiar with, given my background is physics. As I went further in those sources I came to come across completely new terms to me, so I think this subject is not something someone outside electronics/electrical engineering can quickly comprehend. That's why I would like to ask here if someone can give me direction I should follow and the related references, for instance what are the important concepts I need to possesses etc. I would really appreciate if you can suggest me references that a beginner like me can study for like one or two weeks. Also if you want to cite books, please specify the corresponding chapters.
Regards.

Engineering news on Phys.org
maNoFchangE said:
I hope this is the right place for this post.