Basic questions about flowing water in a pipe

• Thread starter smallrobot
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Pipe Water
In summary: x, then the pressure is...
smallrobot
Hi, I have no background in physics or engineering, I am a computer guy who is tasked with building a toy simulator for piping diagrams. Hoping I can get some help in this forum. Basically I am given a piping diagram with a bunch of widgets (pumps, heat exchanger, radiators, etc) that are connect via pipes and I need to show an animation with water moving around, with the ability to click on each pipe to display its pressure, flow and temperature. I have a few qns (might be dumb, if so pls enlighten):

- When water is flowing in a pipe full of water, are the pressures at both ends equal? How do I compute the two pressures given the flow velocity, length and diameter of the pipe (no other variables given, I can make assumptions)?

- Given a pump that maintains a pressure difference of P, and a circular pipe that connects one end to the other: how fast is the water flowing? What is the pressure in the middle of the pipe? What is the pressure at the input end of the pump, is it negative? Suppose I take the same pump and hook it up to a heater. What is the pressure at the heater?

- Given the same pressure difference, does water in a longer or wider pipe flow faster/slower?

- What happens when the pipe is split into two via a splitter?

- What is a "vessel"? I know it's a container that fills up with water -- will water flow out even when its not full? If so how fast? If it's full it works like a pipe?

- Is 'flow' the speed of water moving in a pipe? If so how come I need two connections for a flow sensor but only one connection for a pressure sensor? I know in electrical engr potential difference requires two points and current only requires one.