Arc Length and Smooth Curves: Understanding the Basis for Assumptions

In summary, the arc length is the longest length of a polygonal line corresponding to a given partition. The arc length is not affected by the curve's section that is between the two vertices of the partition.
Castilla
Guys, I need your kind assistance. I am studying arcs length. Suppose a vectorial function with domain [a, b] (interval in R) and range in RxR. This range is a curve in the RxR plane.

Take a partition P of [a, b]: a= t0, t1, t2,..., tn = b.

We have a straight line which goes from F(t0) to F(t1), another straight line that goes from F(t1) to F(t2), etcetera. Thus we build a "polygonal". By definition, the supremum of set A = { lengths of the polygonals corresponding to any partition} is the arc length.

But all books (in their drawings) assume that, for example, F(t2) can not be located in the curve that was "cut off" by the straight line which goes from F(t0) to F(t1). In other words: they assume that F(t2) can not go backwards and settle between F(t0) and F(t1).

I simply do not understand where is their basis for such assumption.

In two books they say that both component functions of F (lets call them f and g) have continuous derivatives and that there is not "t" in [a,b] such that (f'(t), g'(t)) = (0,0). I know that this implies that, for example, if we take F'(t1), at least one of the original component functions (f or g) is monotone in a interval that contains t1, but I fail to see how this conect with my question of the previous paragraph.

Can you help me? Thanks.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Guys, it is too obvious or too boring for droping some words to explain this?

We may be having difficulty understanding what you are asking. The points used to approximate the curve by a "broken line" are chosen so that the line does not "go back on itself"! We don't have assume such a thing. We are free to choose the points and order them as we wish.