Ap1.3.51 are complex numbers, show that

In summary, the problem asks to show that for complex numbers $z$ and $u$, $\bar{z}u=\overline{z\bar{u}}$ and $\overline{\left(\frac{z}{u} \right)}=\frac{\bar{z}}{\bar{u}}$. The bar over a complex number represents its conjugate.
karush
Gold Member
MHB
$\textsf{ If $z$ and $u$ are complex numbers, show that}$
$$\displaystyle\bar{z}u=\bar{z}\bar{u}
\textit{ and }
\displaystyle \left(\frac{z}{u} \right)=\frac{\bar{z}}{\bar{u}}$$ok couldn't find good example on what this is
and I'm not good at 2 page proof systemsso much help is mahalo

Attachments

• output-onlinepngtools.png
    output-onlinepngtools.png
    960 bytes · Views: 82
Last edited:
Mathematics news on Phys.org
I would begin with:

\(\displaystyle u=x_u+y_ui\)

\(\displaystyle z=x_z+y_zi\)

And the see where the algebra leads. :)

MarkFL said:
I would begin with:

\(\displaystyle u=x_u+y_ui\)

\(\displaystyle z=x_z+y_zi\)

And the see where the algebra leads. :)

accually what does the bar over mean

karush said:
accually what does the bar over mean

That means "the conjugate of." And so, using my prior definitions:

\(\displaystyle \overline{u}=x_u-y_ui\)

\(\displaystyle \overline{z}=x_z-y_zi\)

karush said:
$\textsf{ If $z$ and $u$ are complex numbers, show that}$
$$\displaystyle\bar{z}u=\bar{z}\bar{u}
\textit{ and }
\displaystyle \left(\frac{z}{u} \right)=\frac{\bar{z}}{\bar{u}}$$

There are some bars missing. I think that the problem should be asking you to show that $$\bar{z}u=\overline{z\bar{u}}
\text{ and }
\overline{\left(\frac{z}{u} \right)}=\frac{\bar{z}}{\bar{u}}$$

Related to Ap1.3.51 are complex numbers, show that

1. What are complex numbers?

Complex numbers are numbers that consist of both a real part and an imaginary part. They are typically written in the form a + bi, where a is the real part and bi is the imaginary part, with i being the imaginary unit equal to the square root of -1.

2. How do you perform operations with complex numbers?