Anyone familiar with Peano' (or Grassman) algebra?

In summary: Just let me know and I'll move it to another section.In summary, the professor has assigned several proof questions, and I'm having difficulty answering them. I'm an engineer, not a mathematician, and I'm having difficulty understanding the terminology. Terminology: v is a join operation, ^ is a meet operation D[] is a bracket operation. The meet is the intersection of the two subspaces, and the brackets are needed to show that the two subspaces are not equal. If the sets are independant, and \alpha a_1 + \beta a_2 = 0, then \alpha \ and \ \beta need to be zero because independancy implies a_1 \ and \ a_2 are not equal
enigma
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Gold Member
I'm an engineer, not a mathematician...

the professor has assigned several proof questions, and I'm having difficulty answering them...

(This may need to be moved to homework help, but the topic is unusual, so I thought I'd get better response here)

Terminology: v is a join operation, ^ is a meet operation D[] is a bracket operation

Example:

Show that when:

[tex] A = a_1 \vee a_2, B = b_1 \vee b_2, \ and\ n = 2 [/tex]

then

[tex] A \wedge B = -D[a_2 , b_1 , b_2] a_1 + D[a_1 , b_1 , b_2] a_2 [/tex]
[tex]= D[a_1 , a_2 , b_2] b_1 - D[a_1 , a_2 , b_1] b_2 [/tex]

If the meet is zero, then assuming that the sets [itex] (a_1, a_2) [/itex] and [itex] (b_1, b_2) [/itex] are both independent, the four brackets must be zero. Show that, in this case, the two subspaces [itex] A_s[/itex] and [itex] B_s [/itex] are the same.

Now, proving the first part is fairly simple: just run though the definition of the meet.

I'm having difficulty with the second part. I thought that the definition of the meet is the intersection of the two subspaces. If the subspaces are the equal, then wouldn't the meet be either As or Bs?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Answering my own question somewhat: