Analysis Learning: Spivak or Stewart? Self-Taught Student

• Thread starter woundedtiger4
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Spivak
In summary, the conversation discusses the importance of studying calculus by Spivak for those interested in pursuing pure mathematics, particularly in fields like real analysis and measure theory. While it may not be necessary for those interested in physics, it is highly recommended for those interested in math. The conversation also touches on the spectrum of calculus and analysis books, with Spivak falling on the more rigorous side. It is recommended to complete multivariable calculus before diving into Spivak, and to also start reading algebra books in preparation for studying pure mathematics.
woundedtiger4
I have realized that almost everyone on this forum talks about the calculus by spivak, and from the arguments in it's favour make it unbeatable, it seems that nobody can learn analysis without reading that book. I am studying ONLINE at Paul's notes and Calculus by James Stewart, is my approach/route towards analysis is weak? do I have to restart calculus by reading Spivak?
P.S. I am a self-taught student, and I have nearly finished calculus 2.

Physics news on Phys.org
Depends on what you want to do later. If you want to do physics, then you don't necessarily need Spivak.
If you're into math, then you'll need to study a rigorous calc/analysis book sooner or later. And Spivak is a very good book.

micromass said:
Depends on what you want to do later. If you want to do physics, then you don't necessarily need Spivak.
If you're into math, then you'll need to study a rigorous calc/analysis book sooner or later. And Spivak is a very good book.

I want to do the pure maths such as real analysis particularly measure theory (in context of financial maths).
Isn't good if later I study some soft book on analysis and then the hard book on analysis, instead of restarting again the calculus?

Thanks

woundedtiger4 said: