Amateur radio + frequency measurements

In summary, the effect of measurement tolerance, calibration accuracy, and time-related drift on frequency measurements is important to understand for accurate frequency readings. Time-related drift is caused by continuous crystal vibration, while measurement tolerance refers to the tolerated frequency range around the ideal measurement. Calibration accuracy, on the other hand, refers to how well the equipment is calibrated to generate or measure a frequency. This information is crucial for accurate frequency measurements.
JamesGoh
For an exam I am studying for, I have to understand the effect of measurement tolerance, calibration accuracy and time-related drift on frequency measurements.

Im aware that the time-related drift is due to the oscillator frequency becoming less accurate (due to continuous crystal vibration), however I am not sure about measurement tolerance and calibration accuracy.

Does measurement tolerance refer to a tolerated frequency range the ideal frequency measurement falls around ? (e.g say if I wanted to get an ideal reading of 9Hz and instead I get 8Hz, I would take 8Hz)

Im guessing that calibration accuracy would refer to how well the equipment has been calibrated to generate or measure a frequency (e.g. how well a crystal has been carved to generate a resonant frequency) ?

thanks in advance

Engineering news on Phys.org
JamesGoh said:
For an exam I am studying for, I have to understand the effect of measurement tolerance, calibration accuracy and time-related drift on frequency measurements.

Im aware that the time-related drift is due to the oscillator frequency becoming less accurate (due to continuous crystal vibration), however I am not sure about measurement tolerance and calibration accuracy.