Air-tight, High Specific-Strength Textiles

• Thread starter Daniel Sellers
  • Start date
In summary, an undergraduate student is conducting a research project on aeronautics and needs a fabric with a strength-to-weight ratio of over 130 kNm/kg that can also be made air-tight. After researching, they have found that Kevlar, Zylon, and Spectra fibers meet the requirements. They are seeking more information on how Zylon and Spectra can be made airtight and what materials are needed for this process. They also inquire about the materials used in car airbags and space suits, and it is mentioned that high-tech sails use a laminate of woven and sheet materials. The suggested Hyperlast site provides a good overview of similar materials. To achieve an airtight fabric, a combination of a
Daniel Sellers
I am an undergrad student working on a personal research project involving aeronautics. For the purposes of my project I have found that I need a fabric with a specific strength (tensile strength over density) of greater than 130 kNm/kg which is can be made air-tight.
Kevlar, Zylon and Spectra fibers are among the few textiles I've found which meet the strength-to-weight requirements.
I have seen reference to zylon and spectra being used in parachute and sail materials and I was hoping someone here could give me more information (any and all information would be appreciated) regarding how these materials are made to be completely air-tight and/or what materials need to be added to them to do so.
Thanks!

Engineering news on Phys.org
What do they use for car airbags? Space suits?

Likes berkeman
Air bags use woven nylon and space suits use a number of different materials including kevlar and nylon.
The issue is that nylon is not strong enough compared to its density. Perhaps I need a layered nylon/kevlar material as well

Likes JBA
The suggested Hyperlast site is also a good primer on the types of materials for applications similar to that in which you are interested.