Advice about internship research challenges

In summary, the conversation discusses the challenges of finding internships in the current economic climate and the importance of conducting thorough research and maintaining discipline while searching. The speaker also suggests utilizing online job search engines and networking as effective strategies for finding employment. The conversation concludes with a recommendation to seek advice from a career counselor for further guidance.
Spirit
Hello everyone,

I am an international student, and will be graduating this year (University of Florida). With the economy problems and such in the US it seems that looking for internships requires much more research, and there are significantly less spots available.

I would value any input or insight on how to be wise while searching, and how to keep discipline throughout the process; sometimes it's so overwhelming that I don't feel looking around at all for days.

Any tips or strategy you know and proved effective while searching for internships/jobs yet keeping a balance with other daily life commitments?

Thanks,
-Spirit,

Physics news on Phys.org
What is your major area of study? Depending on the field, some internships may not be so hard to find.

One fairly effective way to search for jobs/internships/etc. is to look up top employing companies in your area, and search within them to find any openings based on your expertise. There are also general profile search engines, like MonsterTRAK.com, where you can make a personal profile and search for job openings (granted, as long as some of these employers frequently check these sites for qualifying job candidates).

Hope this helps, and good luck in your search.

Last edited:
Searching online for jobs is not at all likely to get you hired. Networking is the only way to go. I've learned this from experience. Talk to a career counselor on your campus to get advice on how to network.