Advantages/disadvantages of penalty formulation for incompressible fluid flow

In summary, the penalty formulation is a method used in fluid flow modeling that eliminates pressure from the momentum equation and allows for a direct calculation of velocity. This is achieved by replacing the continuity equation with a term involving a large coefficient, which can be determined through numerical experimentation. This method may be more suitable for single-phase flow or incompressible fluids, and its advantages include the ability to use explicit schemes and eliminate ellipticity from the equations. However, it may also have some disadvantages compared to other methods, such as the calculation of pressure first.
bzz77
Advantages/disadvantages of "penalty formulation" for incompressible fluid flow

Hi everyone:

I'm interested in getting into some fluid flow modeling (e.g., advection-diffusion). I'm a newbie, so sorry in advance for any silly questions.

Today I came across the "penalty formulation" and I'd really appreciate any basic help or directions to online references in understanding (1) how it works and (2) what the advantages/disadvantages are compared to the method I'm familiar with--using conservation of fluid mass to derive an expression for the fluid pressure p and then getting the velocity profile from that.

From what I've read, using the penalty method allows elimination of pressure from the momentum equation so that the mass and momentum equations can be combined. The result is an equation (convection-diffusion) where velocity can be calculated directly.

This seems rather strange though. The first step in using the penalty method is to replace the continuity equation by:
1/e + grad u

I don't understand what e is/where it comes from. A book I have just calls it a "coefficient with large values." Is it some kind of approximation for P? Is the method I currently use--calculating P first and then getting a velocity profile from that--better?