Advanced Data Fitting - More than Simple Regressions

In summary, you want to learn how to fit a family of exponential equations to data by estimating the values of the constant parameters.
HumanistEngineer
Hello All,
I want to improve myself in data fitting in order to derive new equations for the data from experimental results and/or performance analysis. I am an engineering researcher and since I found some out-of-world formulations derived from performance data, I need to learn this advanced data fitting (or whatever its name is) discipline.
Please guide me to the exact field name and/or books to achieve this skill. I guess that this is not just Math but also Physics so that one could put the relationship between the input data and/or dimensionless quantities.
For example: How come one could derive this formulation for the correction factor data (LMTD heat exchanger) as shown below:
Here is the formulation/expression:
Correction_Factor.png

For the graph:
2017_06_22_10_06_52_Logarithmic_Mean_Temperature_Difference_LMTD_Correction_Factor_Charts.png

Thank you in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
I think these equations must come from expertise in the physics of the subject matter rather than from a curve-fitting approach.

Likes HumanistEngineer and DrClaude
HumanistEngineer said:
I want to improve myself in data fitting in order to derive new equations for the data from experimental results and/or performance analysis.
Are you trying to derive new equations? Or are you trying to fit a family of equations that is defined by some constant parameters to data by estimating the values of the constant parameters?

Stephen Tashi said:
Are you trying to derive new equations? Or are you trying to fit a family of equations that is defined by some constant parameters to data by estimating the values of the constant parameters?