Accessing MDF & LDF Files in MS SQL Server 2005

• Thread starter ionlylooklazy
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Mysql
In summary, if you have Microsoft SQL Server 2005 installed, you can use the Management Studio to view and access .mdf and .ldf files. The Management Studio can be installed from the SQL Server 2005 Installer or downloaded from Microsoft. Once connected to your local instance of SQL Server, you can attach the database files and browse its tables and perform queries.
ionlylooklazy
Hello,

I have never used SQL before and I have a .mdf & a .ldf file and I need to change some parameters. Is there a way to view them like an Access Database?

I have Microsoft SQL Server 2005, but to my knowledge there is no utility included to access these files.

Thanks

Technology news on Phys.org
Since you have SQL 2005 installed, you can use the Microsoft SQL Server 2005 Management Studio. If you don't have the Management Studio you can install it from the SQL Server 2005 Installer or download a CTP version from Microsoft.

Using the Management Studio, Connect to your local instance of SQL Server, then on the right pane (the object explorer) right-click on the Databases folder and click "Attach...".

Specify the location of your database file (the .mdf) and the log file (the .ldf)
The database will then show up under the databases folder. You'll be able to browse its tables, perform queries, etc.

!"

Hi there,

Yes, there are ways to access and view .mdf and .ldf files in Microsoft SQL Server 2005. One option is to use SQL Server Management Studio, which is a graphical user interface tool that allows you to manage databases and their files. You can open the .mdf file in Management Studio and make changes to the parameters you need.

Another option is to use the SQLCMD utility, which is a command-line tool that allows you to interact with SQL Server databases. You can use this tool to view and make changes to the .mdf and .ldf files.