Abstract algebra, show that phi is a homomorphism

In summary: It can be a little awkward to express. Let's write down indices for everything we will need first. Suppose ##g_i##, ##g_j## and ##g_k## are any elements of your group. Then ##g_i g_j g_k=g_m## for some m. And ##g_j g_k=g_n## for some n. So then we also have ##g_i g_n=g_m##. Now you want to show ##\phi_{g_i g_j}(k)=\phi_{g_i}( \phi_{g_j}(k))##. Work out both sides. Start by telling
usn7564

Homework Statement

25ow3d4.png

The Attempt at a Solution

I'm very new to this kind of maths, so don't quite know how to get started. If I understood the question at all we have

[tex]g_i \mapsto \phi_i[/tex]

and so I have a homomorphism if I can show that

[tex] \pi(g \cdot g_i) = \pi(g) \circ \pi(g_i) [/tex]

I'm thinking it's trivially injective (might be way off here) because each g maps to a unique element in the symmetric group so there's not much to show.

But to show the homomorphism? Frankly don't have a clue
[tex] j = \phi_g (i)[/tex]
[tex]\pi(g \cdot g_i) = \pi(g_j) = \phi_{g_j}[/tex]

[tex]\pi(g) \circ \pi(g_i) = \phi_g \circ \phi_{g_i}[/tex]

and then I come to a halt. How do I approach this?

Physics news on Phys.org
usn7564 said:

Homework Statement

25ow3d4.png

The Attempt at a Solution

I'm very new to this kind of maths, so don't quite know how to get started. If I understood the question at all we have

[tex]g_i \mapsto \phi_i[/tex]

and so I have a homomorphism if I can show that

[tex] \pi(g \cdot g_i) = \pi(g) \circ \pi(g_i) [/tex]

I'm thinking it's trivially injective (might be way off here) because each g maps to a unique element in the symmetric group so there's not much to show.

But to show the homomorphism? Frankly don't have a clue
[tex] j = \phi_g (i)[/tex]
[tex]\pi(g \cdot g_i) = \pi(g_j) = \phi_{g_j}[/tex]

[tex]\pi(g) \circ \pi(g_i) = \phi_g \circ \phi_{g_i}[/tex]

and then I come to a halt. How do I approach this?