A-Level Project Ideas: Maths & Physics Coursework

In summary, there are various interesting and testable topics that you could explore in your physics coursework using differential equations, such as fluid dynamics, electrical circuits, oscillations and waves, and chaos theory. It is recommended to discuss your ideas with your teacher and conduct further research to find a suitable topic that aligns with your interests and limitations.
tomfitzyuk
Hey,

I'm currently studying Maths, Further Maths, Physics and Computing A-Levels in the UK (it's high school for any Americans) and in Physics we need to do coursework on what we want, given a few limitations.

The topic I do in my coursework needs to be testable in an average college (i.e. nothing nuclear or too extreme).

I want the project to be as Mathsy as possible so I was thinking with a lot of differential equations in it. My teacher recommended moments of inertia and the motion of a pendulum (we've already done simple harmonic motion).

Is there any other topics you could recommend?

Thanks in Advance
Tom

Physics news on Phys.org

Hi Tom,

It's great to hear that you are interested in incorporating differential equations into your physics coursework. There are certainly many interesting and testable topics that you could explore in this area. Here are a few suggestions:

1. Fluid dynamics: You could study the motion of fluids using differential equations and explore topics such as Bernoulli's equation, the Navier-Stokes equations, and the concept of laminar and turbulent flow.

2. Electrical circuits: You could investigate the behavior of electrical circuits using differential equations, focusing on topics such as RLC circuits, Kirchhoff's laws, and the behavior of different types of circuit elements.